BuddyBoss Platform

Group Privacy

Social groups in BuddyBoss platform can have their privacy set to either; Public, Private or Hidden. In this video, we teach you how you can set up your group privacy options.

Controlling the privacy of social groups

The BuddyBoss Platform offers three privacy options for social groups. The site administrator and group organisers choose privacy as:

  • Public (Group Privacy - Public group icon):
    • Any site member can join the group.
    • The group will be listed in the groups directory and in search results.
    • Group content and activity will be visible to any site member.
  • Private (Group Privacy - Private group icon): 
    • Only people who request membership and are accepted can join the group.
    • The group will be listed in the groups directory and in search results.
    • Group content and activity will only be visible to members of the group.
  • Hidden (Group Privacy - Hidden group icon): 
    • Only people who are invited can join the group.
    • This group will not be listed in the groups directory or search results.
    • Group content and activity will only be visible to the members of the group.

To change the privacy of an existing social group as a site adminitrator or group organiser:

  1. Click the Manage tab and then click Settings.
  2. In the Privacy Options section, select the preferred privacy option for the group and then click the Save Changes button.
Group Privacy - Changing the privacy of a social group
Group Privacy – Changing the privacy of a social group

Similarly, you can change the privacy settings of an existing social group in the Edit mode in the WordPress Dashboard using the Group Privacy meta box.

Group Privacy - Changing the privacy of a social group via Edit mode
Group Privacy – Changing the privacy of a social group via Edit mode

Questions?

We're always happy to help with code or other questions you might have! Search our documentation, contact support, or connect with our sales team.