BuddyBoss Platform

Activity Privacy

In this tutorial, you will learn how to use our new activity privacy options, allowing members to control the visibility of any of their user-created activity posts, as well as photo and document uploads.

Note: You do not need any additional plugin, this feature is built into the BuddyBoss Platform.

Controlling the visibility of activity posts

Your members can control the visibility of each activity posts on their wall and in groups. They can also control the visibility of the media and documents they post on their wall and in groups. Your members can choose the visibility as:

  • Public (Activity Privacy - Activity Privacy button - Public): Post is visible to all logged-in and logged-out members. OR
  • All Members (Activity Privacy - Activity Privacy button - All Members): Post is visible only to logged-in members of the site. OR 
  • My Connections(Activity Privacy - Activity Privacy button - My Connections): Post is visible only to connected members of the author of the post. OR
  • Only Me (Activity Privacy - Activity Privacy button - Only Me): Post is visible only to the author of the post.

To change the privacy of an existing activity post:

  1. Click the Activity Privacy (Activity Privacy - Activity Privacy button) button on a post/media/document you have posted.
Activity Privacy - Privacy button on posts
Activity Privacy – Privacy button on posts
  1. Select the preferred privacy option. For example, click the All Members (Activity Privacy - Activity Privacy button - All Members) option to display the post to only logged-in members of the site. 
Activity Privacy - Changing the visibility of a post
Activity Privacy – Changing the visibility of a post

Note: When posting in groups, the activity post always inherits the privacy settings of the group itself.  

Questions?

We're always happy to help with code or other questions you might have! Search our documentation, contact support, or connect with our sales team.